Master HeaderHERITAGE

 

01CivilWar
02HumphreyPorch
03Stellwagen
04ChiappettiFarm
05SlaughterhouseRelocation
06Businesses143rd
07OrlandMall
08HostertCabinsTour
09ChicagoSalmon
10OPPostOffice
11BoleyHanks
12OPHotel

Orland Park Museum Collection

 

Where Past IS Present

Innovation Award - 2026The Orland Park Heritage Sites aim to inspire a sense of community by offering engaging and educational displays and programs. The Heritage Sites division oversees the collection and preservation of artifacts that document the history of the Orland Park area and its relationship to local, state and national history. The area we know today as Orland Park was first settled in 1834. The Village of Orland Park was incorporated in 1892 when Senator John Humphrey served as the first Village President. 

IAM Badge - Special Projects - Excellence

 

Heritage Sites

Senator John Humphrey House Weekly Hours

The Senator John Humphrey House is open for FREE tours and visits every Friday and Saturday from 10 - 3 p.m by appointment only. To book your spot, email epaulson@orlandpark.org or call 708.403.6268.

Programs
Heritage Displays
Collection
Admission
Group Tours
Donation Items Needed
Become a Heritage Sites Member

Orland Park: "Then" and "Now"

2019028154

 

 

14409 Beacon Avenue served as the site for the old Village Hall and the Orland Fire Department. When it was built in approximately 1892, it was a white, two-story clapboard structure . The original village limits were approximately 151st Street to the south, 94th Avenue to the east, 143rd Street to the north, and West Avenue to the west. Outside these limits were unincorporated Orland and parts of Orland Township. 

The village board met on the second floor and the lower level housed the volunteer fire department.  There was also the large water tower directly northeast of the building that provided water for the small village. When it collapsed c. 1919, it flooded the Humphrey family’s yard and home.

In 1920, on the second floor of the building, a freshman class of what would become a two-year high school program was taught here. For the second year, it was held on the second floor of the newly opened Orland State bank. Eventually, elementary, middle, and high school students went to Park School once its construction was completed in the late fall of 1922.

 

 

20140021574

 

 

In the late spring of 1959, Orland Park's municipal government relocated to 9924 W. 143rd Place (Sanderson’s Optometry). The original Village Hall building (image on the left) was torn down in 1960 and a new building was constructed. Officials and employees moved into their newly built civic center in April 1961 and it served the same purpose until the new Village Hall Complex on Ravinia Avenue was built and opened in 1989.

 After serving as Village Hall, this building became a community center, being used for programs, scout meetings, and theater productions. In summer 2025, the building made its debut as Studio VOP, The Center for Theater and Improv.

 

 Thank You to Our 2026 Sponsors!

 ORLAND_PARK_2a8599976fLV Spa logo_gold-1024x648
MPIMedia_group-removebg-previewOrland_Color_medium The Patio Logo

 Republic Bank Logo Sushi-Nova-Logo

  • MJ O'Malley Corporation